Middle Earth Musings, Part I: Hobbit Sketch

by Wonder Mom

Greetings everyone!

I will be hosting a six part series, Middle Earth Musings, every Monday, September 10th-October 15th,

on teaching ideas that go hand and hand with J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit.

Today we will be focusing on the central character in the book, Bilbo Baggins, who is a hobbit.

Before I began the activity with my own kiddos, I reread to them…

…Chapter 1, paragraph 4, which describes the characteristics of a hobbit.

After we went over the description…

…the kiddos used their imaginations…

…and drew their own version of a hobbit, in particularly Bilbo Baggins.

Here are their final results:

Little Wild Man made certain to include Bilbo’s sword, Sting, in his picture…

Baby Girl wanted to place Bilbo in his cozy hobbit hole…

…and Jungle Girl gave a comparison of a hobbit’s height to a human’s height in her picture.

As you can see, the possibilities are endless in this activity, and are only limited by your kiddo’s imagination.

Now, my kiddos are all elementary age, but I have done this activity with middle school aged students as well.

I just added a writing activity with the drawing activity:

In one paragraph, summarize the appearance/characteristics of a hobbit based upon J.R.R. Tolkien’s description.

If you would like to use the sheet we used with your own kiddos, just click HERE.

Please come back next week when I will be discussing ways to liven up your Hobbit study

by celebrating Hobbit Day…

You can read more about Wonder Mom and her homeschooling adventures with her three kiddos over on

The Fantastic Five.